0015. Tito Puente – Dance Mania Vol. 1 [1957]

tito-puente-dance-mania-front

*sigh* Another album like Sabu’s “Palo Congo.”  Fortunately, we’re almost completely out of salsa territory.  I think there’s a prerequisite for being able to enjoy music like this.  I think it’s a die hard affinity for hot weather, beaches, basically a bizarre derivation of pleasure from situations that make me irritated and uncomfortable.  I don’t know.  I really can’t relate.  Maybe I just haven’t had an experience in my life that was able to break salsa music into my heart.

If you’re into salsa music, good for you.  You’ll probably dig this album.  It’s just not for me.  Not yet, anyway.  Maybe someday I’ll get it.  I think as far as salsa music goes, it’s probably a great album, but I know pretty much zilch about salsa.  Mind you, I don’t think it sucks.  That’s actually one of the most exhausting parts of trying to share music with people: them saying something short and uninformative like, “This sucks.”  Not just music, though.  Movies, TV shows, books, video games, etc.  Every time I hear a short, negative answer like that, what I interpret beyond what little is said is something like this: “I’m too lazy to express an elaborate, intelligent opinion,” or, “I’m not at all interested in whatever this is, and I’m irritated that you would even try to make me sit through this,” or even, “I’m not even remotely curious about anything you like.  All I’m interested in is what I already know I like.  I don’t trust your taste enough to even waste 5 minutes of my time on something about which I know nothing,” (although, the person in question most likely wouldn’t give a fraction of a shit about ending their sentence(s) with a preposition, but you get the fucking idea).

Anyway, enough of this bullshit rambling.  Wikipedia has almost nothing to say about this album, apparently.  Check it out:

Wikipedia Says:

Dance Mania is an album by Latin musician Tito Puente.

The album was added to the National Recording Registry in 2002. It is also listed among the 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.

Track listing

  1. “El Cayuco” – 2:33
  2. “Complicación” – 3:18
  3. “3-D Mambo” – 2:23
  4. “Llegó Miján” – 3:10
  5. “Cuando Te Vea” – 4:10
  6. “Hong Kong Mambo” – 3:42
  7. “Mambo Gozón” – 2:44
  8. “Mi Chiquita Quiere Bembé” – 3:55
  9. “Varsity Drag” – 2:48
  10. “Estoy Siempre Junto a Ti” – 3:10
  11. “Agua Limpia Todo” – 2:55
  12. “Saca Tu Mujer” – 3:02
Leave a Reply

