0007. Frank Sinatra – Songs For Swingin’ Lovers [1956]

Photobucket

As the 1,001 Albums book says, this album is like “day following night,” in contrast to Sinatra’s previous album, “In The Wee Small Hours.” If you’re in the mood for cheery swing music sung by a man aptly nicknamed, “The Voice,” look no further. If you’re in more of a somber mood, be sure to check out the aforementioned, “In The Wee Small Hours.” Both albums are fantastic, although I personally could do without the song, “Makin’ Whoopee.” Much like George Carlin once did, I rather loathe euphemisms; especially nauseatingly cute ones like that. The 50s was a weird time for collective American moral values, in my opinion.

Anyway, it’s hard to go wrong with any Frank album. I’ve yet to hear a bad one. As usual, if you’re interested in getting a copy of the album, message me and I’ll point you in the right direction. And comment! Whether you like it or hate it or have no intention to listen to it and you think I suck. Well, maybe you can go ahead and keep the last one to yourself. Regardless, I hope ya dig it if you do check it out!

Leave a Reply

