0005. Fats Domino – This is Fats! [1957]

0005. Fats Domino

I regret having been away from this project this long. I don’t know if anyone reads this or ever will, but I’m going to try harder to keep this going. I got occupied with other things and spread myself a little too thin as I sometimes (or often, depending on who you ask) do. Anyway, here’s this album. It’s pretty cool as 50s era swing albums go. I didn’t enjoy it as thoroughly as Louie Prima, but it was alright. I came across something a little curious in preparing this blog entry. Apparently, the version I have is the one that you’ll find behind the link above, but the version you’ll find on Amazon is a different one with a different cover that got poor reviews:

Something even stranger is that in the 1,001 Albums book, the tracklisting on the album’s page reflects the different version, but the picture of the album cover above that tracklisting is the one I have – the one on Discogs behind the link above – with “The Rooster Song,” being the first track. The one on Amazon has a release date of Nov. 17th 2008, several years after my edition of the 1,001 Albums book was published, and it’s supposedly an “import,” and an “Original Recording.” Fuckin’ weird, to me anyway.

Anyway, give it a listen. As usual, if you like it or hate it, let me know! I like comments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

